Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

Bicentennial Planning

Saint Louis University's bicentennial events will celebrate our history, fostering pride in and support for SLU locally, nationally and globally.
Our guiding principles are clarity, simplicity, dignity and inclusiveness. In addition, we will emphasize outreach to the community, the Society of Jesus, the Catholic Church, and SLU's faculty, staff, students and alumni. 
Ellen Harshman, Ph.D., dean emeritus of the Richard A. Chaifetz School of Business and former vice president for academic affairs, leads a bicentennial steering committee of representatives from throughout SLU, as well as the Jesuit community. 
Members of the committee are available to answer questions regarding the bicentennial celebrations and opportunities to be involved in planning SLU’s milestone anniversary.

Bicentennial Steering Committee 

  • Joe Adorjan, SLU Board of Trustees (emeritus)
  • Bradley Bailey, Ph.D., associate professor, Fine and Performing Arts, and Faculty Senate representative
  • Daniel Carter, president, Student Government Association
  • Chris Collins, S.J., special assistant to the president for Mission and Identity
  • Meg Connolly, executive development director
  • Peter Garvin, Staff Advisory Council representative
  • Laura Geiser, assistant vice president, Marketing and Creative Services
  • Ellen Harshman, Ph.D., director of Bicentennial Planning 
  • Ann Knezetic, counselor, Office of Admission, former SGA president
  • Anthony Minor, assistant vice president, Stewardship, Alumni Relations
  • Teri Murray, Ph.D., dean, School of Nursing, Academic Affairs representative
  • Donna Bess Myers, assistant dean of students, Student Life representative
  • Robert O'Toole, S.J., Jesuit Provincial representative
  • John Padberg, S.J., Jesuit historian and scholar
  • Pat Sly, vice chairman, SLU Board of Trustees
  • John Waide, archivist (emeritus), Pius XII Memorial Library

Bicentennial Advisory Council 

  • Kathleen Becker, president, SSM Saint Louis University Hospital
  • Marie-Hélène Bernard, president and CEO, St. Louis Symphony Orchestra
  • William H.T. Bush, chairman, Bush O’Donnell Investment Advisors
  • Archbishop Robert J. Carlson of St. Louis
  • Hon. William Lacy Clay Jr., congressman, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Barbara Fraser, education liaison, St. Louis County, representing County Executive Steve Stenger
  • Karin Hagaman, president and CEO, Grand Center Inc.
  • Sister Sheila Hammond, RSCJ, provincial, USA and Canada Society of the Sacred Heart
  • Thomas J. Irwin, executive director, Civic Progress
  • Peter Wyse Jackson, president, Missouri Botanical Garden
  • Lyda Krewson, mayor, City of St. Louis
  • David Laughlin, president, Saint Louis University High School
  • Dennis Lower, president and CEO, Cortex
  • Michael P. McMillan, president and CEO, Urban League of Metropolitan St. Louis Inc.
  • Kathleen T. Osborn, executive director, The Regional Business Council
  • Kathleen Ratcliffe, president, Explore St. Louis
  • Joseph F. Reagan, president and CEO, St. Louis Regional Chamber
  • Ellen Sherberg, special adviser, American City Business Journals
  • Pat Sly, vice chairman, SLU Board of Trustees
  • Blanche M. Touhill, chancellor emeritus, University of Missouri St. Louis